Accepting Spiritual Support At The Hospital

From the Huffington Post: “Being asked if I wanted spiritual support during the surgical stay made me feel calm and cared for. This was one of the few times I felt this way on the year and a half journey of countless doctor appointments leading up to my operation to determine the cause of my knee pain and instability. While I understand and deeply appreciate my access to medical care and freedom to choose a doctor, finding a surgeon was a challenge. I was looking for someone I trusted to take good care of me. I eventually settled on the doctor who did the most thorough examination and had the most solid credentials. He isn’t warm and fuzzy but I realized he doesn’t have to be. That’s what the spiritual support staff is for. Suddenly I am not in a bank anymore. I am in a place of healing that makes me feel richer when I leave.” More.

About The Rev. Thomas C. Jackson

Ordained to the priesthood in December, 2010.
This entry was posted in Chaplaincy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

