Deacon Alexander Martin joins our team

I’m Alex Martin, a deacon of the Episcopal Church, and a new volunteer with the Episcopal Chaplaincy at Stanford Hospital.

I’m Alex Martin, a deacon of the Episcopal Church, and a new volunteer with the Episcopal Chaplaincy at Stanford Hospital.

I’m Alex Martin, a deacon of the Episcopal Church, and a new volunteer with the Episcopal Chaplaincy at Stanford Hospital.

I was educated at York University and Trinity College, Toronto, where I received my Master of Divinity degree in 1980. I was ordained deacon in the same year in the Anglican Church of Canada, and served in parishes in Newfoundland and Toronto, Ontario. I currently serve at the Church of the Advent of Christ the King, in San Francisco.

After my retirement from secular work in 2011, I found myself with more time to devote to active ministry, which I was eager to do. The chaplaincy at Stanford was suggested to me by a former Episcopal chaplain, and I pursued the opportunity.  The chaplaincy allows me to minister to the sick beyond my local parish, and it allows me to minister to those who are far from their own parishes, and to those who have no parish connection.

The Prayer Book says that a deacon is to “interpret to the Church the needs, concerns, and hopes of the world,” which include the needs, hopes, and concerns of the sick, and all those who work with them. I am confident that I will learn much from my experience at Stanford, which I can bring back to the Church.

About The Rev. Thomas C. Jackson

Ordained to the priesthood in December, 2010.
This entry was posted in Episcopal Chaplaincy News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

